Linear Technology

Zimmer Group is a pioneer in the fields of clamping and braking on profile and round guides.

More than 20 years of development and market experience have yielded more than 4,000 products. Zimmer Group offers the most comprehensive and innovative portfolio of products and services reflecting the highest possible quality and reliability.

Clamping and braking elements from Zimmer Group routinely perform critical positioning, holding and braking tasks. They ensure precision during cutting processes and boost efficiency with short cycle times. Their secure hold maximizes safety and protects the machines.


Zimmer Clamping- and Braking - lhigh-performance, durable, innovative

  • Very high holding force on small dimensions
  • No relative movement for the workpiece
  • No clamping forces transferred to the guide block
  • High positional accuracy
  • High stiffness
  • Virtually wear free
  • Available for all common guide manufacturers
  • Emergency stop-capable series with integrated special surface for braking

With many years of product and market experience, we have a special ability to develop custom solutions that complement our large and diverse range of products. Please share your challenge with us!


Clamping Elemnt Productfinder


  • Select clamping and braking elements more quickly
    A powerful tool that enables fast and well-founded selections.
  • Clearly arranged selection guide
    The available clamping and braking elements that meet these specifications are shown to the user in an overview table.
  • Appealing solution, available on mobile devices
    Since the selection program is available online, customers do not have to install any software and can access it using any computer or laptop, as well as with any smartphone or tablet.


Clamping element Productfinder

Series at a glance

Download Catalogue


Technical Fundamentals

A wedge-type gear uses rollers to convert the force of the piston into a transverse holding force, which enables high holding forces

Holding force
The holding force is the maximum force that can be applied in the axial direction. The specified holding forces are tested before each delivery on every clamping and braking element using a slightly lubricated rail (ISO VG 68). In some cases, using other oil or lubricating substances can greatly influence the coefficient of friction, which can cause crucial loss of holding force in individual cases.

Active clamping elements are normally open (NO) and are closed with compressed air; passive clamping elements (NC), by contrast, are kept closed without pressure by the force of a spring energy accumulator and must be opened with compressed air. Both variants are characterized by the use of high-ratio wedge-type gears from Zimmer Group. They translate the force of the piston across smooth-running rollers into a lateral holding force, enabling very high holding forces of up to 1850 N without frequent seizing.

Wedge slide gear
With the wedge-type gear the Zimmer Clamping and Braking Elements fulfill the requirements for short cycle times and high machine capacity, while ensuring reliable production over a service life of up to 5 million clamping cycles.


  • Series MBPS/UBPS/LBPS/KBHS/LBHS and RBPS permit the use of corresponding contact profiles for dynamic use (braking) as a safety feature.
  • The frictional connection between the clamping element and the linear guide is generated on the free surfaces of the guide rails, avoiding damage to the running surfaces of the ball guides and roller slides.
  • The clamping elements do not perform any guide function. Therefore, it is not possible to exchange a guide block with a clamping element. The ideal position of the clamping element is between two guide blocks.


Valve for fast stop

Brake and clamping elements with integrated valve

In machining and handling systems, braking elements assume a core safety function by ensuring that machines and systems come to a stop as quickly as possible in an emergency. In the event of a power outage, loss of pressure or emergency shutdown, they absorb the kinetic energy present in moving components such as Z axes or machining tables. The response time of the braking element is of key importance here, because the faster the system comes to a stop, the less damage there will be—and damage may be avoided entirely. To shorten the response time of its braking elements, the Zimmer Group has integrated a globally unique feature into its braking elements for the UBPS series: Here, the electric valve for triggering the braking or clamping process is no longer located a few meters away from the braking element, as was typical in the past.

Shorter closing time - more safety

This has considerable effects on the braking distance. For a vertical axis with an initial velocity of 0.5 meters per second, the overall braking distance increases considerably compared to a solution with an integrated valve. The braking distance is almost 50 percent longer for a hose length of one meter and nearly 250 percent longer for a hose length of 6.5 meters.

Clamping and braking without moving parts

Zimmer Group demonstrates its technological expertise with a new product: Following a development phase of over two years, the company is launching a hydraulic braking element that consists of a single functional component, contains no moving parts and uses just the internal stress of the base body to generates braking and holding forces.


The extremely slim LBHS series consists primarily of a patented unibody housing that does not contain any pistons, springs or other moving parts susceptible to wear. The housing block merely contains oil ducts and cut-outs created with precision through the use of wire-cut electrical discharge machining. If this base body is pressurized with hydraulic fluid, it opens slightly, releasing the slide on the linear axis.


If the hydraulic pressure drops, the element assumes its original shape again, which allows it to compress the two brake pads on the linear axis. The LBHS is closed without pressure and offers an integrated emergency function that ensures that all moving components stop safely if the pressure drops or the entire system fails.



UBPS series

Handling of cylinder heads for ship engines
UBPS braking element with high positioning accuracy for specifying the gripper position and ensuring that power is stored when the system is in an emergency stop in case of a power supply failure.


MBPS series

Handling crankshafts with variable gripping distances
MBPS braking elements that use the built-in spring accumulator to hold the grippers securely in position without the need to use power.




MKRS series

Box filling system
MKRS clamping element for round guides, which holds the box in place during overhead filling.


MKS series

MKS clamping element, which ensures the position of the gripper fingers and the gripper force without using energy via the built-in spring accumulator.


Zimmer gripper with integrated clamping element

GHK gripper with integrated clamping element for friction-locked gripping force safety device in a compact design.


TPS + MKS series

TPS rotation clamping element, which secures the crank housing precisely at the set rotation angle. Combined with two MKS clamping elements, which use the built-in spring accumulator to secure the gripped crankshaft housing.

Lineartechnik

Beim Klemmen und Bremsen auf Profil-- und Rundwellenführungen, hat die Zimmer Group Pionierleistung erbracht.

Über 4.000 Produkte sind das Ergebnis aus mehr als 20 Jahren Entwicklungs- und Markterfahrung. Die Zimmer Group bietet das umfangreichste und innovativste Produkt- und Leistungsportfolio in höchster Qualität und Zuverlässigkeit.

Die Klemm- und Bremselemente der Zimmer Group erfüllen beim Positionieren, Halten und Bremsen Aufgaben von höchster Bedeutung. Sie stellen die Präzision von Bearbeitungsvorgängen sicher, ermöglichen mit kurzen Zykluszeiten eine effiziente Produktion und sorgen mit sicherem Halt für ein Höchstmaß an Sicherheit für Mensch und Maschine.

 

Zimmer Klemm- und Bremselemente - leistungsfähig, langliebig, innovativ

  • Höchste Haltekräfte bei kleinster Bauform
  • Keine Relativbewegung für das Werkstück
  • Keine auf den Führungswagen wirkenden Klemmkräfte
  • Hohe Positioniergenauigkeit
  • Hohe Steifigkeit
  • Nahezu verschleißfrei
  • Für alle gängigen Schienenhersteller verfügbar
  • Für Notstopp geeignete Serien mit integriertem Spezialbelag zum Bremsen

Mit unserer langjährigen Produkt- und Markterfahrung ist es unsere Stärke, neben dem größten und vielfältigsten Produktspektrum auch kundenindividuelle Lösungen zu entwickeln. Fordern Sie uns, sprechen Sie uns an. 

 

Klemmelemente-Auswahlhilfe

  • Klemm- und Bremselemente schneller auswählen
    Ein leistungsstarkes Tool, das sehr schnell zu fundierten Auswahlentscheidungen führt.
     
  • Übersichtliche Auswahlhilfe
    Die verfügbaren Klemm- und Bremselemente, die den Vorgaben entsprechen, werden dem Nutzer in einer übersichtlichen Tabelle angezeigt.
     
  • Überzeugende Lösung, mobil verfügbar
    Da das Auswahlprogramm online zur Verfügung steht, muss der Kunde keinerlei Software installieren und kann nicht nur mit jedem PC oder Laptop, sondern auch mit Smartphones oder Tablets darauf zugreifen.

     

Klemmelemente-Auswahlhilfe

Serien in der Übersicht

Katalog-Download

 

Technische Grundlagen

Ein Keilgetriebe setzt die Kraft des Kolbens über Rollen in eine quer wirkende Haltekraft um und ermöglicht dabei hohe Haltekräfte

Haltekraft

Die Haltekraft ist die Kraft, die in axialer Richtung maximal aufgebracht werden kann. Die angegebenen Haltekräfte werden bei jedem Klemm- und Bremselement vor der Auslieferung mit leicht geölter Schmierschicht (ISO VG 68) getestet. Der Einsatz von anderen Öl- oder Schmierstoffen kann den Einfluss des Reibfaktors beeinflussen, was im Einzelfall zu Haltekraftverlusten führen kann.

Aktive Klemmelemente sind normalerweise offen (NO) und werden per Druckluft geschlossen, passive Klemmelemente (NC) werden dagegen im drucklosen Zustand von der Kraft eines Federenergiespeicher geschlossen gehalten und müssen mit Druckluft geöffnet werden. Für beide Varianten charakteristisch ist der Einsatz des stark übersetzenden Keilgetriebes. Es setzt die Kraft des Kolbens über leichtgängige Rollen in eine quer wirkende Haltekraft um und ermöglicht dabei sehr hohe Haltekräfte, ohne sich dauerhaft zu verklemmen.

Keilgetriebe
Mit dem Keilgetriebe schaffen die Zimmer Klemm- und Bremselemente die Voraussetzungen für kurze Zykluszeiten und eine hohe Maschinenauslastung, während sie gleichzeitig mit einer Lebensdauer von bis zu 5 Millionen Klemmzyklen für Zuverlässigkeit in der Produktion sorgen.

Allgemeines

  • Die Serien MBPS/UBPS/LBPS/KBHS/LBHS und RBPS erlauben durch die Verwendung entsprechender Kontaktprofile zusätzlich den dynamischen Einsatz (Bremsen) als Sicherheitsfeature.
     
  • Grundsätzlich wird die reibschlüssige Verbindung zwischen Klemmelement und Linearführung an den Freiflächen der Führungsschiene erzeugt, wodurch die Laufbahnen der Kugel- bzw. Rollenführungen nicht beschädigt werden.
     
  • Die Klemmelemente übernehmen keinerlei Führungsfunktion. Der Austausch eines Führungswagens durch ein Klemmelement ist daher nicht möglich. Die ideale Position des Klemmelementes befindet sich zwischen zwei Führungswagen.

 

Ventil für schnellen Stopp

Brems- und Klemmelemente mit integriertem Ventil

Bremselemente übernehmen in Bearbeitungs- und Handhabungssystemen eine zentrale Sicherheitsfunktion, denn sie sorgen dafür, dass die Maschinen und Anlagen im Notfall möglichst schnell zum Stehen kommen. Um die Ansprechzeit ihrer Bremselemente zu verkürzen, hat die Zimmer Group in ihren Bremselementen der Baureihe UBPS ein weltweit einmaliges Feature integriert: Das elektrische Ventil zur Auslösung des Brems- oder Klemmvorgangs sitzt hier nicht, wie bislang üblich, etliche Meter entfernt, sondern direkt im Bremselement selbst.
 

Kürzere Schließzeit - mehr Sicherheit

Das hat erhebliche Auswirkungen auf den Bremsweg. Bei einer Vertikalachse mit einer Anfangsgeschwindigkeit von 0,5 Meter pro Sekunde erhöht sich gegenüber der Lösung mit einem integrierten Ventil der Gesamtbremsweg beträchtlich. Bei einer Schlauchlänge von einem Meter sind es fast 50 Prozent; bei 6,5 Meter Schlauchlänge ist der Bremsweg sogar um fast 250 Prozent länger.
 

Klemmen und Bremsen ohne bewegliche Teile

Die Zimmer Group stellt mit einer Neuentwicklung ihre technologischen Kompetenzen unter Beweis: Nach einer Entwicklung von mehr als zwei Jahren bringt das Unternehmen ein hydraulisches Bremselement auf den Markt, das aus einem einzigen Funktionsbauteil besteht, keine beweglichen Teile enthält und die Brems- und Haltekräfte ausschließlich über die innere Spannung des Grundkörpers aufbringt.

 

Die extrem schmal bauende Baureihe LBHS besteht im Wesentlichen aus einem patentierten „Unibody“ -Gehäuse, das weder Kolben noch Federn oder andere bewegliche und damit verschleißanfällige Teile enthält. In den Gehäuseblock sind lediglich per Drahterodieren gezielt Ölkanäle und Aussparungen eingebracht. Wird dieser Grundkörper mit Hydrauliköl beaufschlagt, spreizt er sich geringfügig auf und gibt dadurch den Schlitten auf der Linearachse frei.

 

 

Fällt der Hydraulikdruck ab, nimmt das Element wieder seine ursprüngliche Form an und presst dadurch die beiden Bremsbacken an die Linearachse. Das LBHS ist also im drucklosen Zustand geschlossen und bietet damit eine integrierte Notfunktion, die bei Druckverlust oder beim Ausfall der gesamten Anlage für den sicheren Stop beweglicher Komponenten sorgt.

Anwendungen

Serie UBPS

Zylinderkopf-Handling von Schiffsmotoren
Bremselement UBPS mit hoher Positioniergenauigkeit zur Fixierung der Greiferposition und als Sicherheit des Krafterhalts bei Energieausfall im Notstop.

 

Serie MBPS

Kurbelwellen-Handling mit variablem Greifabstand
Bremselemente MBPS welche die Greifer durch den eingebauten Federspeicher ohne Energiebedarf sicher in Position halten.

 

 

 

Serie MKRS

Karton-Befüllsystem
Klemmelement MKRS für Rundführungen, welches den Karton bei der Überkopf Befüllung in Position hält.

 

Serie MKS

Klemmelement MKS, welches die Position der Greifbacken, sowie die Greifkraft energielos über den eingebauten Federspeicher absichert.

 

Zimmer Greifer mit integriertem Klemmelement

Greifer GHK mit integriertem Klemmelement für kraftschlüssige Greifkraftsicherung bei kompakter Bauweise.

 

Serie TPS + MKS

Rotationsklemmelement TPS, welches das Kurbelwellengehäuse exakt in dem eingestellten Drehwinkel fixiert. In Kombination mit zwei Klemmelementen MKS, welche das gegriffene Kurbelwellengehäuse über den eingebauten Federspeicher sichern.